Rent Control Ballot Measure Considered in Oakland!

Return to Blog

Category: Property Management

Published 05/11/2016

On May 24 at 1pm, the Oakland City Council's Community and Economic Development Committee will consider placing a measure on the November ballot that would extend rent control to owner-occupied duplexes and triplexes. The proposed measure was written by tenant activists and includes a slew of punitive provisions including:

  • Extending rent control and Just Cause for Eviction protections to owner-occupied duplexes and triplexes
  • Limiting rent increases to 60% of CPI
  • Eliminating the existing tenant complaint driven system, instead requiring landlords to petition for all increases above CPI
  • Creating an independent Rent Board and giving tenants four out of the seven seats
  • Eliminating rent control exemptions for substantially rehabilitated units
  • Eliminating illegal use and failure to renew a similar lease as just causes for eviction
OBAR urges you to reach out to Mayor Schaaf and the City Council to tell them that this measure will not address Oakland's affordability crisis. It will simply punish the small property owners who are already being squeezed out of Oakland. Please also attend the committee meeting on May 24 to show support for property rights in Oakland. Contact Deputy Government Affairs Director Aly Bonde with questions at aly@theobaor.org. ​ What: Rent control ballot measure committee meeting When: Tuesday, May 24 at 1pm Where: Oakland City Council Chamber, 3rd floor at 1 Frank H. Ogawa Plaza Oakland, CA
Contact information: ​ District 1 - Councilmember Dan Kalb Phone: (510) 238-7001 Email: dkalb@oaklandnet.com District 2 - Councilmember Abel Guillen Phone: (510) 238-7002 Email: aguillen@oaklandnet.com
District 3 - Councilmember Lynette McElhaney Phone: (510) 238-7003 E-Mail: lmcelhaney@oaklandnet.com District 4 - Councilmember Annie Campbell Washington Phone: (510) 238-7004 E-mail: acampbellwashington@oaklandnet.com District 5 - Councilmember Noel Gallo Phone: (510) 238-7005 E-mail: ngallo@oaklandnet.com District 6 - Councilmember Desley Brooks Phone: (510) 238-7006 E-mail: dbrooks@oaklandnet.com District 7 - Councilmember Larry Reid Phone: (510) 238-7007 E-mail: lreid@oaklandnet.com Councilmember At-Large Rebecca Kaplan Phone: (510) 238-7008 E-mail: rkaplan@oaklandnet.com Mayor Libby Schaaf Phone: (510) 238-3141 E-mail: lschaaf@oaklandnet.com

Return to Blog
Due to the Shelter in Place order our office is closed to the general public. As an Essential Business we are still open.
To contact us please call 510.250.7918 or email us at team@adventpropertiesinc.com.