On May 24 at 1pm, the Oakland City Council’s Community and Economic Development Committee will consider placing a measure on the November ballot that would extend rent control to owner-occupied duplexes and triplexes. The proposed measure was written by tenant activists and includes a slew of punitive provisions including:

  • Extending rent control and Just Cause for Eviction protections to owner-occupied duplexes and triplexes
  • Limiting rent increases to 60% of CPI
  • Eliminating the existing tenant complaint driven system, instead requiring landlords to petition for all increases above CPI
  • Creating an independent Rent Board and giving tenants four out of the seven seats
  • Eliminating rent control exemptions for substantially rehabilitated units
  • Eliminating illegal use and failure to renew a similar lease as just causes for eviction
OBAR urges you to reach out to Mayor Schaaf and the City Council to tell them that this measure will not address Oakland’s affordability crisis. It will simply punish the small property owners who are already being squeezed out of Oakland. Please also attend the committee meeting on May 24 to show support for property rights in Oakland. Contact Deputy Government Affairs Director Aly Bonde with questions at aly@theobaor.org.

What: Rent control ballot measure committee meeting
When: Tuesday, May 24 at 1pm
Where: Oakland City Council Chamber, 3rd floor at 1 Frank H. Ogawa Plaza Oakland, CA
Contact information:

District 1 – Councilmember Dan Kalb
Phone: (510) 238-7001
Email: dkalb@oaklandnet.com
District 2 – Councilmember Abel Guillen
Phone: (510) 238-7002
Email: aguillen@oaklandnet.com

District 3 – Councilmember Lynette McElhaney
Phone: (510) 238-7003
E-Mail: lmcelhaney@oaklandnet.com

District 4 – Councilmember Annie Campbell Washington
Phone: (510) 238-7004
E-mail: acampbellwashington@oaklandnet.com

District 5 – Councilmember Noel Gallo
Phone: (510) 238-7005
E-mail: ngallo@oaklandnet.com

District 6 – Councilmember Desley Brooks
Phone: (510) 238-7006
E-mail: dbrooks@oaklandnet.com

District 7 – Councilmember Larry Reid
Phone: (510) 238-7007
E-mail: lreid@oaklandnet.com

Councilmember At-Large Rebecca Kaplan
Phone: (510) 238-7008
E-mail: rkaplan@oaklandnet.com

Mayor Libby Schaaf
Phone: (510) 238-3141
E-mail: lschaaf@oaklandnet.com

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2017 Advent Properties, Inc. | Privacy Policy

1600 MacArthur Blvd. Oakland, CA 94602
Tel - +510.250.7918
Fax - +800.507.6593

150 Post Street, Suite 600, San Francisco, CA 94108
Tel - +415.347.5658
Fax - +800.507.6593

FOLLOW US

 

Cal BRE # 01897998

SUBSCRIBE FOR UPDATES

EMAIL*

SUBSCRIBE FOR UPDATES

EMAIL*

Copyright © 2017
Advent Properties, Inc. Privacy Policy
By Okralabs, NYC